The American Hospital Association announced appointments to the 2016 Committee on Governance, a specialty committee of the board that provides input for the AHA’s policy development, leads involvement of hospital trustees in grassroots advocacy, provides advice on trustee initiatives and enhances involvement of trustees in the AHA.

Margaret Wagner Dahl is the 2016 COG chair and Andrew M. Stern is chair-elect.

Dahl is a trustee at WellStar Health Network, an accountable care organization in Atlanta. She previously served as board chair for the Athens Regional Medical Center, as a trustee for the Georgia Hospital Association and for Project Safe, an organization combating domestic violence. She is associate vice president for health information technology at the Georgia Institute of Technology’s Enterprise Innovation Institute.

Andrew M. Stern, trustee of Medical City Dallas Hospital, will become COG chair in 2017. Fred P. Gattas Jr., trustee of St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital in Memphis, Tenn., is immediate past chair. Kimberly A. McNally, trustee, UW Medicine in Seattle, serves as the AHA board liaison to the Committee on Governance. 

Newly elected members serving three-year terms that began on Jan. 1 include: Catherine Quencer, trustee, Samaritan Medical Center, Watertown, N.Y.; Ron Dodson, trustee, Southern Crescent Hospital for Specialty Care, Riverdale, Ga.; Waunita Delaney, trustee, Allegiance Health, Jackson, Mich.; Richard Evnen, board chair, Bryan Medical Center, Lincoln, Neb.; Rosemary Burns, board member, East Texas Medical Center Foundation, Tyler;  David Brown, board chair, Billings (Mont.) Clinic; Fran Roberts, board chair, Presbyterian Health Delivery System, Albuquerque, N.M.; and Sam McCreary, board chair, John C. Fremont Healthcare District, Mariposa, Calif.